Frédéric Lenormand


Frédéric Lenormand is a novelist born in 1964. By 1988, five novels were published successively, and he won the Del Duca prize for Le Songe d’Ursule. He then moved to New York, where he wrote Les Fous de Guernesay (Robert Laffont, 1991). He won many prizes in the early 1990s, including a scholarship for young novelists awarded by the Fondation Hachette, the Villa Médicis Hors les Murs scholarship, the Thyde-Monnier prize from the Société des Gens de Lettres, and the François-Mauriac prize from the Académie française. After writing a variety of historical novels, he now specialises in the 18th century.

Frédéric Lenormand also published two studies, exploring topics that had never been tackled before, in La Pension Belhomme (Faillard, 2002) and Douze Tyrans Minuscules (Faillard, 2003), and then he decided to write sequels to the Chinese novels by Robert van Gukil, who died in 1967. He started with Les Nouvelles enquêtes du juge Ti, published by Faillard from 2004. La longue marche du juge Ti was released in October 2012.


Autobiography for Quais du Polar

”Frédéric Lenormand has relinquished the left hemisphere of his brain to Robert van Gulik’s volatil mind, who then proceeded to compose twenty new investigations carried out by Judge Ti. Voltaire took hold of the right hemisphere to pen the series ‘Voltaire mène l’enquête’. The worst is to be feared should a third ghost knock at the door.”


Crime favourites

Film: the TV series ”Vidocq”

Book: Fleurs de dragon, by Jérôme Noirez

Author: Danila Comastri Montanari, who wrote the Publius Aurelius Statius series, set in Ancient Roma.